Phishing Now – Recovery Phone Number emails
techiest continues to keep readers up to date on the most recent phishing threats.
Next to your email correspondence, legitimate messages and alerts, you may see the new threat pretending to be an alert from your email server stating that you need to add a recovery phone number to your account. According to the email if you don’t your account will be deleted.
The subject line will be something similar to “New Account Validation” and come from “Server Notification”.
The full text of the email is below:
To keep your Email account safe, we recommend you add a recovery mobile number.
This is our new security measure.
Recovery No: none yet
ADD RECOVERY NUMBER NOW
However, if you do not add your NUMBER, Your account will be
de-activated shortly and all your email data will be lost permanently.
This message is auto-generated from E-mail security server, and replies sent to this email can not be delivered. This email is meant for:
Clicking on the link will take you to a login screen. Any login attempts are recorded and sent to the attacker.
This campaign is another way to attempt to steal your credentials. If you have clicked on this link and entered your credentials you should consider them compromised. You should notify your IT Support and reset your username and password.